Dr Maureen O'Rourke

Executive Director
Maureen O'Rourke
PhD (Technology and Educational Change); MSc (Educational leadership, policy and management); Graduate Diploma in Educational Administration; BEd (Primary); Dip Ed (Primary); Trained Special Teachers Certificate: Certificate in Education of the Intellectually Handicapped).
International Teaching Fellowship 1992; Australian Council for Educational Leaders Fellowship (FACEL) 2009

Maureen has worked with systems of education in Australia and internationally (USA, China, India, Vietnam, Japan) to co-design and facilitate major innovation and professional learning initiatives with in-country partners.

She was a principal at two schools, during which time she led her school communities through major national and state reforms. Maureen has worked as a teacher in all sectors (early childhood, primary, secondary, specialist and higher education) and has a further 25 years experience in leadership development, professional learning design and facilitation, mentoring and coaching for educational leaders (at a system, school, team and classroom level). Maureen has regularly partnered with system leaders to design capacity building programs that are strongly anchored in high aspirations for student and adult learners.  

Her research interests include leading change, capacity building approaches to professional learning, teacher leadership and development, learner agency,  learning partnerships and contemporary/future oriented approaches to learning. She is the leader of the Create program for Teacher Leaders (Bastow), Leading Curriculum & Assessment (Bastow) and the Differentiated Support for School Improvement's professional learning partnership with Leadership and Teaching Partners. Maureen has worked with leadership teams in both primary and secondary school partnerships and with system leaders in both the government and Catholic sectors in Victoria. 

Honorary Partners
Partner Organisations

Need more information?

Find out more about our programs and how to get involved by sending us an email or calling on 9329 1150


Who have we partnered with?
  • Armadale Primary School
  • Australian Catholic University
  • Bastow Institute
  • Berwick Fields PS
  • Carlton Primary School
  • Catholic Diocese of Ballarat Education Office
  • Dandenong West Primary School
  • Department of Education and Early Childhood Development
  • Derrimut Primary School
  • Elisabeth Murdoch College
  • Eltham High School
  • Footscray Primary School
  • Grovedale College
  • MACS - Melbourne Archdiocese Catholic Schools
  • Monash University
  • Mother of God School, Ardeer
  • Prahran High School
  • Roxburgh Homestead Primary School
  • St Francis de Sales Primary School Lynbrook
  • St Joseph's Crib Point
  • St Mary of the Cross MacKillop Primary School
  • St Paul the Apostle, Doreen
  • The Victorian Academy of Teaching and Leadership
  • William Ruthven College
  • Wonga Park Primary School
The Victorian Academy of Teaching and LeadershipBerwick Fields PSElisabeth Murdoch CollegeWonga Park Primary SchoolPrahran High SchoolDandenong West Primary SchoolDerrimut Primary SchoolFootscray Primary SchoolWilliam Ruthven CollegeSt Joseph's Crib PointArmadale Primary SchoolGrovedale CollegeRoxburgh Homestead Primary SchoolAustralian Catholic University
to Top