Michaela Epstein

Maths Teacher Circles
Michaela Epstein

Michaela Epstein is a highly experienced mathematics educator, who has worked closely with teachers throughout Australia. Michaela has taught at secondary schools in rural
Victoria and in Melbourne.

She has coached teachers in the design and implementation of specialised mathematics programs to support and extend students. Currently, Michaela runs professional development with primary and secondary teachers with a focus on problem solving, mathematical reasoning and using data to inform practice. In 2019, Michaela brought Maths Teacher Circles, a global model of communities of practice, to Australia for the first time.

Since 2016, Michaela has served on the Board of the Mathematical Association of Victoria, including as President during 2017 to 2019 and as the Victorian representative for the
Australian Association of Mathematics Teachers. In this capacity, she has advised on the strategic development of a range of programs and services to support mathematics
teachers and students.

Michaela’s expertise in mathematics education further extends to curriculum policy and development. She has completed Masters research on the intent of the 'Victorian
Curriculum: Mathematics' and the 'National STEM School Education Strategy', and presented internationally on this work.

Honorary Partners
Partner Organisations

Need more information?

Find out more about our programs and how to get involved by sending us an email or calling on 9329 1150


Who have we partnered with?
  • Armadale Primary School
  • Australian Catholic University
  • Bastow Institute
  • Berwick Fields PS
  • Carlton Primary School
  • Catholic Diocese of Ballarat Education Office
  • Dandenong West Primary School
  • Department of Education and Early Childhood Development
  • Derrimut Primary School
  • Elisabeth Murdoch College
  • Eltham High School
  • Footscray Primary School
  • Grovedale College
  • MACS - Melbourne Archdiocese Catholic Schools
  • Monash University
  • Mother of God School, Ardeer
  • Prahran High School
  • Roxburgh Homestead Primary School
  • St Francis de Sales Primary School Lynbrook
  • St Joseph's Crib Point
  • St Mary of the Cross MacKillop Primary School
  • St Paul the Apostle, Doreen
  • The Victorian Academy of Teaching and Leadership
  • William Ruthven College
  • Wonga Park Primary School
Prahran High SchoolSt Paul the Apostle, DoreenDandenong West Primary SchoolAustralian Catholic UniversityWonga Park Primary SchoolElisabeth Murdoch CollegeMonash UniversityBastow InstituteWilliam Ruthven CollegeThe Victorian Academy of Teaching and LeadershipEltham High SchoolRoxburgh Homestead Primary SchoolCatholic Diocese of Ballarat Education OfficeMother of God School, Ardeer
to Top